The closest to the ‘eternal’ is often the ‘now’

It seems to me that the closest to the ‘eternal’ a person can often get is in the experience of the ‘now’.  This is quite ironic, in that the ‘now’ is momentary, fleeting, and passing.  It’s the complete opposite of the ‘eternal’, which is timeless and enduring.  Nonetheless, it is true.

But, when we think of the ‘eternal’ we are generally looking at it in an abstract way, as a concept, an idea.  In the real human world – 0f human experience – the ‘now’ is everything.  Our memories, ideas of past/present/future, etc. are all abstract, based in non-experiential reality.  When we ‘experience the now’ we are in the world, placed within it, and it is here that existence lies.  And so, from the point of view of human experience, the ‘now’ is ‘eternal’.  All our life, all our being is placed in the ‘now’. 

But our experience of the ‘now’ is ever changing and altering.  Never is it the same.  This, though, is because we remember, sense time, and think.  These blur the ‘now’ and, often, destroy its sense.  Many of us lose its sense altogether. 

Loosing the sense of ‘now’ seems to create a sense of alienation, of detachment, of a separateness with life.  I also found, with me, that it caused a nervousness and an anxiety.  Life just seemed to ‘slip by’.  In my 20’s I was a very nervous person.  I found that sitting and watching everything I did, and experiencing it, my nervousness went down.  Simple acts, like brushing my teeth, generally went by unnoticed by me, as my mind was ‘somewhere else’.  As a result, I didn’t feel I ‘grasped’ life that much, causing a nervousness and an incontent within me. 

As a result, I feel it is good to develop a habit of watching what one does:  stop thinking, clear your mind, and experience what one does even in the most mundane of things, like walking from one room to the other.  Watch and feel each movement, and each sensation.  By so doing, develop the sense of the ‘now’, that you are ‘here’.  I should stress that I think it must be a sense.  That is, without thought, without concept.  A person must sense it.  The ‘now’ is not a concept, an idea.  It is a sense that a person has.

This entry was posted in Contemplation, monastacism, shamanism, spirituality, prayer, and such, Life in general, Philosophy, Psychology and psychoanalysis, Religion and religious stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

