Thoughts on changes that often happen after shamanistic ‘journeying’

When I go out into the woods and practice the ‘wonderful madness’ of shamanistic ‘journeying’ I often have a wonderful ‘sense’ afterwords that is interesting and revealing. 

Now, in shamanisitc ‘journeying’ I feel as if I separate from myself and go off into the blackness where I have a ‘waking dream’ that is often real.  I as if ‘go somwhere’.  That is, I ‘journey’.  Because of this I seem to leave where I am.  On returning, after I open my eyes, there are often wonderful feelings.  These include:

  • I feel as if I have just returned from a journey.  More than once have I said that when I open my eyes its as if I have just ‘opened a door’ finding myself somewhere else different (sort of like an elevator).
  • I feel as if I just ‘woke up’ and finding myself somewhere else.  I guess this would be like waking up and finding yourself somewhere else than what you thought you were.
  • It seems like it was a long time since I was there last.  I might even say, “boy, it was a long time since I was here last”, yet it was often only a few minutes.
  • I feel as if the immediate surroundings is ‘home’.   This shows what’s like a ‘deep inner connection’ with my surroundings.  I feel as if the stream, the tree’s, etc, are all a part of me in some way.
  • Things are more vibrant.  Colors, the breeze, the movement of the leaves, etc. seem so much more ‘real’ and ‘alive’. 
  • I often marvel at things.  Watching the grass blow in the wind may seem like a miracle or watching the wonderful play of the sunlight on the surface of the water seems amazing. 
  • I feel as if I have changed.  I don’t feel I’m the same person I was. I have always said that if I feel that I am a different person from when I started then it was productive day.
  • I am often overcome by a feeling caused by something that happened in the dream.  These can range from a joy to a horror.   This shows that it has had great impact on me deep down.

These seem to show three patterns of reactions:

  1. A feeling of ‘returning’.  This shows that I have gone ‘deep’.
  2. An increase in awareness.  This shows that I have ‘progressed’ in learning and awareness.
  3. A change in me.  This shows I have developed as a person.

To me, these are very significant and wonderful things.  They are things that I prize highly and are good signs. 

But, more importantly, they show a tendency of ‘deepness’ that one has been affected in ones ‘soul’.  This cannot be achieved, I don’t think, by any other way.  It is often like an inner transformation.  As a result, there is often an ‘inner development’ that happens with shamanistic ‘journeying’.  This, in part, is its function and purpose, of an ‘inner revealing’ or ‘inner disclosing’.

This entry was posted in Contemplation, monastacism, shamanism, spirituality, prayer, and such, Shamanistic 'journey' dreams and dreaming, Stuff involving me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment