Thoughts on my trip to Washington D.C. and how I disagreed with many American beliefs that were portrayed there

I found this in my unpublished files.  I wrote most of this after going to Washington D.C. which was about 2012, I think.  In a way, its like a little critique of America that I did back then which is quite interesting.  Overall, I think there is some truth in it.  I know that I have repeated some of it in some previous articles.

===

Recently, I went to Washington D.C. for a trip.  While there I noticed they preached a certain perspective that I disagreed with.  Though I have heard them before, it basically was a more ‘extreme’ version of what I have already heard, which quite stunned me.  It is, after all, the “American political dogma” and, being the political center, it took it seriously, perhaps too seriously.  In general, I’d say one of the reasons why I disagreed with many American beliefs isn’t because the beliefs are ‘bad’ or ‘wrong’ but that they are taken too far or way too seriously.  Many of these beliefs were treated in ways such as:

  • These political ideas were treated as if they were a religion.  Even at the Lincoln Memorial it said that it was a “temple”.  America’s political beliefs is not a religion.  God didn’t write the Declaration of Independence or the Bill of Rights.
  • They talked as if these political ideas were what life revolved around as if they were the answer to life’s questions and problems.  It was as if we accepted these political beliefs, and let it control our lives, we would go into some utopian world.

We must remember that Americas political beliefs are just political theory and, not only that, it is only one theory among many and, more importantly, no political theory has been totally successful.

Here are some issues that are taken too far, in my opinion:

  • Democracy.  Frankly, I have never really believed in democracy or “people rule”.  To me, that is impossible and impractical.  It sounds good but, in the real world, it doesn’t work.  Not only that, the historical record shows that democracies don’t work.  When has people ruling a country ever worked?  In addition, this government isn’t a democracy anyways.  I have said, many times, that we should quit using that word for these reasons.  I always thought it comical how the U.S. seems to take pride in calling itself a government style that doesn’t work.
  • Voting.  I have never believed that voting gave me that much power.  I never believed it made me a contributor to politics.  I think it is overrated and is generally inaccurate anyways.  I’m not saying that its bad but I don’t think its the great thing people make it out as.
  • The myth of ‘people power’.  America preaches all this stuff about how the “people” have all this power.  Personally, I don’t see that much evidence of it.  Not only that, it seems unrealistic to think that . . . how can people have such power?  I have always been insulted when they spoke like I had “power” when I know very well that I don’t and can’t.
  • Paranoia.  America is based on the idea that we must protect ourselves from the government.  It’s whole government is based in that.  As such, it is rooted in a paranoia and preaches a general paranoid-outlook on life.  It’s really no wonder why Americans see threats in everything, conspiracy theories, and things like that.  This shows that the general American political system teaches people to be paranoid.  It causes a lot of false accusations and despair in people.
  • Blind rebellion.  The U.S. is rooted in rebellion.  As a result, there is a glorification of rebellion here.  It’s done, frankly, to the point of nausea.  I sometimes think America is going to “rebel itself to death”.
  • Freedom.  The endless concern for freedom has always made me chuckle.  I understand that freedom can be an important thing, but its not what life revolves around, nor is it what government revolves around either.   Many Americans talk as if this is the sole concern in life.
  • Equality.  This has often been taken to ridiculous proportions.  I do feel that no one is above the law . . . that is, equal before the law . . . but to treat everyone as if they are exactly the same is absurd.

Many of these things mean well but they are taken too seriously and too far.  To me, the effects of this is that it creates a very limited perspective that is seen in American mentality.  Basically, America’s worship of its “political dogma” limits its perceptions of things.  Everything must fit its political thinking.  The result of this is that it creates a  mentality that is often ‘out of touch’ with things.

Frankly, I view America’s political theory as A point of view . . . it is not THE point of view.  No political theory has that distinction.  I tend to view political theory more as a “guideline” than something sealed in stone, nor is it something to be worshipped.


Copyright by Mike Michelsen

This entry was posted in Politics and government, Stuff involving me, The U.S. and American society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment